Navigating through cybersecurity certifications can be confusing. There are several certifying organizations and dozens of certifications. Which certifications you choose to pursue will depend on your desired career path and goals, and will be determined by the qualifications that are essential to your present or future job position and desired by your employer. According to, 59% of cybersecurity positions require at least one certification.

Certifications generally serve two purposes:

  1. Entry-level training for specific tools and technologies.
    These foundational certifications may be included in entry-level job postings.
  2. Experienced professional verification of mastery of specific skills.
    These expert or specialty certifications may be required to advance in position or salary. They often require years of experience or other prerequisites.

Certifications come in two types:

  1. Academic certifications are issued by colleges, tech schools, and other educational programs. The NCSA, NCSP, FSNA, and FSNE are educational certifications you will earn in your NexGenT training.
  2. Professional certifications are nationally or internationally recognized and issued by industry organizations. The CCNA and CompTIA Security+ are professional certifications you will earn in your NexGenT training.

Below are the top certifying organizations and some common certifications each issue:
Click on any of the links to explore their certification programs and pathways.

  • (ISC)2 – The International Information System Security Certification Consortium.
  • EC-Council – International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants
  • CompTIA – Computing Technology Industry Association
    CompTIA A+, CompTIA Security+, CompTIA Network+
  • GIAC – Global Information Assurance Certification
    Security Essentials and 30+ other certifications
  • ISACA – formerly known as Information Systems Audit and Control Association
  • Cisco
  • Microsoft

While there are dozens of cybersecurity certifications a cybersecurity specialist may pursue, here are a few that are notable:

●  GIAC Security Expert (GSE)– the most prestigious credential in the information security industry

●  GIAC Security Leadership Certification (GSLC) – intended for security professionals with managerial or supervisory responsibilities – intended for security professionals that want to demonstrate

●  Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) – regarded as another elite credential in the information security industry

●  CompTIA Security+ – globally recognized certification known as a benchmark for best practices in information security

●  CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CSAP) Exam – for IT security professionals with at least five years of experience to validate advanced IT security

●  CompTIA CyberSecurity Analyst+ (CSA+) – for cybersecurity analysts that apply behavioral analytics to improve overall IT security

●  EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) – For cybersecurity professionals who want to understand and how to identify weaknesses and vulnerabilities in systems

●  Mile2 Certified Penetration Testing Engineer and Digital Forensics – a vendor-neutral certification designed to train practitioners on forensics, digital discovery, and advanced investigation techniques.